Talk to the Veterans Crisis Line now
U.S. flag
An official website of the United States government
ORD only    All VA Research websites

Office of Research & Development

print icon sign up for VA Research updates

Summer Research Program

In June 2022, the inaugural VA Office of Research and Development (ORD)-sponsored Summer Research Programs (SRPs) welcomed 115 student participants at 21 VA sites across the country. This three year pilot program is a cornerstone of ORD's efforts to strengthen and diversify the VA scientific work force by offering research experiences to Veterans, children of Veterans, and underrepresented students. Of note, this first cohort of students included 74 college students, 8 graduate students, 11 high school students, 17 medical students, 3 medical professional students, and 2 VA employees.

 VA ORD Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiative Summer Research Program map

ORD Summer Research Program locations are indicated by yellow stars.

For questions regarding the VA ORD Summer Research Program, please contact VHACOORDDEIWG@va.gov, or any of the site point of contacts (POCs) listed below.

SRP Site

Focus Area

Website/POC email

Site PI

Asheville, NC VAMC

Multi-disciplinary, including bench science, mental health, primary care, and nursing

vhaashscan-rd@va.gov

Jessica O'Leary, Paula Geigle

Baltimore VAMC

Data Science and Aging/Geriatric research

Jeffrey.Beans@va.gov

Beth Hogans

Bedford, MA

Health services research and implementation science

Jacquelyn.Pendergast@va.gov

Donald Keith McInnes

Boston VAHCS

AI in medicine, clinical research

Lisa.Jepeal@va.gov

Satish Singh

Boston VAHCS

Neuroscience and Mental Health Research

megmaciver99@gmail.com

Robert Strecker

Central Western Massachusetts VAMC

Women’s Health

Kristin.Mattocks@va.gov

Kristin Mattocks

Charleston VAMC

Bench Science and Clinical Science:

Cardiology (heart failure, myocardial infarction); Vascular (stroke, aortic aneurysm); Orthopedics (bone repair); Immunology (cellular immune system)

Neurology (brain, sleep, cognitive function) Mental Health (PTSD, suicide prevention, substance abuse)

Rehabilitation Research:

Human Rehabilitation Science; Stroke Recovery; Gait analysis; Neurocognitive studies

Health Services Research:

Health services delivery; Quality improvement studies; Data science; Health Care access studies

Sarah.Jackson@va.gov;

Charleston SURF Application 2023

R. Amanda LaRue and Jeffrey Jones

Cleveland VAMC

A) Prosthetics/Orthotics, B) Neural interfaces, C) Health Monitoring and Maintenance, D) Activity-Based Neurorehabilitation, E) Computer-Aided Diagnosis and Detection of Disease

ahess@aptcenter.org

Website

Application

Jeffrey Capadona

Columbia, SC VAMC

Neurobiology of stress, cardiovascular disease, obesity, women’s health, Gulf War Illness Syndrome, and renal disease. 

Michael.Ryan1@va.gov

Michael Ryan

Hines VAMC, Hines IL

Veterans with disabilities, whole health, infectious diseases, antibiotic stewardship, and QUERI funded projects

Marissa.Wirth@va.gov

Website and application

Charlesnika Evans

Minneapolis VAMC

Veteran Mental Health

Program Director: Melissa.polusny@va.gov

Website

Melissa Polusny

Nashville VAMC

Infectious Diseases, Immunology, Cardiology, Endocrinology, Nephrology, Gastroenterology

Holly.algood@va.gov

Holly Algood

Oklahoma VAMC

Bench/preclinical science

Website

Robert Hal Scofield

Phoenix VAMC

Nutrition

katherine.petersen@va.gov

Diane Parrington

Pittsburgh VAMC

Rehabilitation engineering, Assistive technology design and development, Bioengineering, Clinical research

VALOR SRP

Project proposals

POC:D. Joshua Marino, at djm131@pitt.edu

Rory Cooper

Providence RI VAMC

Whitney Mills

Puget Sound VAHCS (Seattle)

Cachexia/sarcopenia (clinical and pre-clinical research) and TBI-related hormone dysfunction (clinical research)

lindsey.anderson5@va.gov

Jose Garcia

Rocky Mountain VAHCS (Aurora, CO)

Suicide Prevention

Website

Lisa Brenner

San Juan, Puerto Rico

Clinical Research (Health Disparities Research, TBI, Mental Health, Cardiac, Pulmonary, Cancer, Gastro, Nuclear Medicine, Women Health)

irma.molina@va.gov; lourdes.guerrios-rivera@va.govingrid.bonilla-mercado@va.gov

Irma Molina-Vicenty

Sierra Nevada VAHCS, Reno NV

Health Database Research

jared.ovitt@va.gov

Amneet Rai

Southern Arizona VAHCS, Tucson, AZ

Medical student research focusing on clinical and basic science investigations

jwertheim@arizmarona.edu

Jason.wertheim@va.gov

Jason Wertheim



Questions about the R&D website? Email the Web Team

Any health information on this website is strictly for informational purposes and is not intended as medical advice. It should not be used to diagnose or treat any condition.