< Technology Transfer Program Contacts

Office of Research & Development

print icon sign up for VA Research updates

Technology Transfer Program Contacts

John J. Kaplan, Ph.D., J.D.

John J. Kaplan, PhD, JD
Director, Technology Transfer Program
202-632-7271
John.Kaplan@va.gov

Click on the map below to find Technology Transfer Specialists by region.

Technology Transfer Specialists by Region

Please submit all Invention Disclosures to vattid@va.gov.

    Kip Bodi, JD
Kip Bodi, JD

857-364-4406

Kip.Bodi@va.gov
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management for Million Veteran Program (MVP) and Artificial Intelligence (AI), including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
   Ryan Davis, JD
Ryan Davis, JD

202-632-7554

Ryan.Davis7@va.gov
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
  Christopher Drabik, JD
Christopher Drabik, JD

202-443-5688

Christopher.drabik@va.gov
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
  Benjamin Henry, MBA
Benjamin Henry

202-443-5736

Benjamin.Henry@va.gov


* includes Puerto Rico
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
       David Marks, JD
David Marks, JD

202-443-5609

David.Marks2@va.gov
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
   Patricia Cullum, M.Ed
Patricia Cullum, M.Ed

202-443-5620

Patricia.Cullum@va.gov
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
     Lee Sylvers, PhD
Lee Sylvers, PhD

202-443-5346

Lee.Sylvers@va.gov
**Technology Transfer Specialist (10X2TT)

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.

⇑ Go to map


Technology Transfer Staff

Name and Contact Title Duties

Phil Gulck

202-443-5641

Philip.Gulck@va.gov

Program Specialist

Data analytics: Collection, storage, use and manipulation of data and information to drive investment and technology transfer decisions.

Alicia Ming

202-382-2342

Alicia.Ming@va.gov

Program Specialist

Office management, royalty payments and distributions, patent administration and process improvement

Cynthia Schwarz

202-443-5690

Cynthia.Schwarz@va.gov

Program Specialist

Office management, invention disclosure intake, knowledge management system management.

Gloria Winford

202-443-5771

Gloria.Winford@va.gov

Program Analyst

Special Projects, program analysis, policies and procedures, and technology transfer specialist support



Mailing Address:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Technology Transfer Program (10X2TT)
810 Vermont Ave. N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20420

Electronic Inquires:

Inquires related to the Invention Disclosures (ID) process or Inventor Certifications (IC): vattid@va.gov

Inquires related to CRADA issues (including process questions and eCRADA registry) or submission of annual reporting requirements: vhacottc@va.gov

Inquires related to either patent or royalty questions: vatechtp@va.gov


Questions about the R&D website? Email the Web Team.

Any health information on this website is strictly for informational purposes and is not intended as medical advice. It should not be used to diagnose or treat any condition.