Talk to the Veterans Crisis Line now
U.S. flag
An official website of the United States government

Office of Research & Development

print icon sign up for VA Research updates

Technology Transfer Program Contacts

John J. Kaplan, Ph.D., J.D.

John J. Kaplan, PhD, JD
Director, Technology Transfer Program
202-417-5611
John.Kaplan@va.gov

Click on the states to view Technology Transfer Specialists by region .

Technology Transfer Specialists by region

Technology Transfer Specialists by Region

Please submit all Invention Disclosures to vattid@va.gov.

  Kip Bodi, JD
Kip Bodi, JD
617-390-4728
Kip.Bodi@va.gov

Intellectual property management for Million Veteran Program (MVP) and Artificial Intelligence (AI), including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Pattie Cullum, M.Ed region  Patricia Cullum, M.Ed
Pattie Cullum, M.Ed
202-255-0613
Patricia.Cullum@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Ryan Davis region  Ryan Davis, JD
Ryan Davis, JD
202-632-7554
Ryan.Davis7@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Christopher Drabik region Christopher Drabik, JD
Christopher Drabik, JD
202-443-5688
781-824-3224
Christopher.drabik@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Terri Hunter region * Florida
 Terri Hunter, PhD
Terri Hunter, PhD
813-579-7736
Terri.Hunter3@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
 David Marks region      David Marks, JD
David Marks, JD
202-443-5609
David.Marks2@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
  Jenish Patel, PhD
Jenish Patel, PhD
202-213-6576
Jenish.Patel@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
 Lee Sylvers region    Lee Sylvers, PhD
Lee Sylvers, PhD
813-505-6989
Lee.Sylvers@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Stefan Susta region Stefan Susta, MBA

Stefan Susta, MBA
937-409-7993
Stefan.Susta@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Brandy Wade region * Geogia, Alabama
 Brandy Wade, PhD
Brandy Wade, PhD
404-321-6111 ext. 204827
Brandy.Wade@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.
Emily Rosenthal, Ph.D. region
Emily Rosenthal, Ph.D.

Emily Rosenthal, Ph.D.
emily.rosenthal@va.gov

Intellectual property management, including

  • invention evaluation,
  • obtaining intellectual property protection,
  • marketing inventions,
  • negotiating license agreements,
  • and advising on IP-related agreements and CRADAs.

⇑ Top

Technology Transfer Support Staff

 

Alicia Ming

202-351-1557

Alicia.Ming@va.gov

Office management, royalty payments and distributions, patent administration and process improvement

Cynthia Schwarz

202-443-5690

Cynthia.Schwarz@va.gov

Office management, knowledge management system, education development and management, and process improvement

Gloria Winford

202-443-5771

Gloria.Winford@va.gov

Special Projects, policies and procedures, and technology transfer specialist support

Rebecca Megabiaw

Harege.Megabiaw@va.gov

Invention disclosure and certification intake and management, data analytics, CRADA Administration, and process improvement

Mailing Address:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Technology Transfer Program (14RDTT)
810 Vermont Ave. N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20420

Electronic Inquires:

Inquires related to the Invention Disclosures (ID) process or Inventor Certifications (IC): vattid@va.gov

Inquires related to CRADA issues (including process questions and eCRADA registry) or submission of annual reporting requirements: vhacottc@va.gov

Inquires related to either patent or royalty questions: vatechtp@va.gov

⇑ Top



Questions about the R&D website? Email the Web Team.

Any health information on this website is strictly for informational purposes and is not intended as medical advice. It should not be used to diagnose or treat any condition.